The TOEFL iBT is an English language proficiency test. TOEFL tests academic
English language proficiency. For TOEFL, academic English means first year,
college-level English.

  1. TOEFL means “test of English as a foreign language.” iBT means “internet-
    based test.” Internet-based means the test computers are connected to the
    internet. Your answers will be sent via the internet to be scored by ETS.
  2. The TOEFL iBT is designed and implemented by Educational Testing Services
    (ETS) Princeton, New Jersey, USA.
  3. You cannot pass or fail the TOEFL test. You will get a score out of 120 total
    points. Your score measures your English language proficiency. The higher
    your score, the higher your English language proficiency.
  4. The TOEFL iBT is divided into four test sections. You cannot change the task
    Section Task Time Score Reading 3-5 essays 60-100 minutes 30/30
    Listening 2-3 dialogues
    4-6 lectures 60 minutes 30/30
    break 10 minutes
    Speaking 2 independent tasks 2 minutes
    4 integrated tasks 18 minutes 30/30
    Writing 1 integrated task 23 minutes
    1 independent task 30 minutes 30/30

Total: 4 hours 120/120